Return to home page Home page Site map To contact us Québec Portal This external link will open a new window Search Québec Premier's Website This external link will open a new window
Menu Contenu
Ministère du Conseil exécutif
Home > Permanent ministerial committees > Comité ministériel de l’implantation de la stratégie maritime

Comité ministériel de l'implantation de la stratégie maritime

Mandate of the committee

The Comité ministériel de l’implantation de la stratégie maritime has a mandate to promote the development of the potential of the St. Lawrence River and the St. Lawrence estuary by responsibility developing Québec’s maritime potential against a backdrop of growing international trade.

To carry out its mandate in collaboration with the government departments concerned, the committee must:

  1. foster the economic development of coastal regions by developing safe, ecological maritime transport;
  2. encourage intermodal transportation, revitalize Québec’s shipyards and provide for the establishment of a logistical hub in the Montérégie region;
  3. stimulate maritime tourism supply and cruise offerings and support ferries by broadening the services offered by the Société des traversiers du Québec;
  4. establish a joint program with the municipalities covering the maintenance of wharves under their responsibility;
  5. ensure the long-term survival of the fishing and aquaculture industries, in particular through the development of new products;
  6. foster research and development in the realms of marine and environmental technologies as well as the training of qualified workers for maritime industry sectors;
  7. elaborate and propose, for adoption by Cabinet, a maritime strategy that reflects these objectives;
  8. ensure the implementation of initiatives under the maritime strategy in order to foster economic development and sustainable development;
  9. ensure follow-up to the strategy’s implementation among the partners and government departments and bodies involved.


Jean D’Amour
Minister for Maritime Affairs


Dominique Anglade
Minister of Economy, Science and Innovation and Minister responsible for the Digital Strategy


  • Laurent Lessard, Minister of Transport, Sustainable Mobility and Transport Electrification and minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
  • Martin Coiteux, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Land Occupancy
  • David Heurtel, Minister of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight Against Climate Change
  • Julie Boulet, Minister of Tourism
  • François Blais, Minister of Employment and Social Solidarity
  • Lise Thériault, Minister responsible for Small and Medium Enterprises, Regulatory Streamlining and Regional Economic Development and Minister responsible for the Status of Women
  • Pierre Moreau, Minister responsible for Government Administration and Ongoing Program Review, Chair of the Conseil du trésor
Ministère du Conseil exécutif
875, Grande Allée Est - Québec (Qc)  G1R 4Y8 - 418 644-7600
Last update: February 3, 2017
Online as of: May 9, 2014